Book Review – Our Song by Dani Atkins

Our Song is being published on 14Our Songth January – pre-order it here.  I was very lucky to receive a proof copy of this from the fabulous Books and The City and I’m so glad I did. I have to confess that my main attraction to it was the fact that the proof copy was purple, my favourite colour. Yes, I am that shallow. I think it’s probably subliminal, being the same colour as my favourite chocolate…

But then I started to read it… and WOW.

I was hooked from the start by Dani’s beautiful writing, the plot weaving seamlessly between the present – just one night – and the past, slowly revealing the back story.

‘The stunning new emotional drama from ebook phenomenon Dani Atkins, author of Fractured – perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson.

This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.

Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?’

Without (hopefully) giving anything away, I can honestly say I have never cried so much reading a book. Andy Jones’s The Two of Us made me sob too but this ripped my heart out, chewed it up and spat it out again. In a good way, of course. Oh my God, did it…

I know I often say I loved this book, it’s brilliant, but in this case, I cannot overstate this enough. I’m shouting it from the rooftops (the author is probably in the process of filing a restraining order right now). It is phenomenal.This will be THE book to read in 2016. Do not forget to pre-order it!

I’ll shut up now.

1 Comment

  1. Hey now, nothing wrong with being sucked in by the cover! Happens to me all the time, even though I should almost certainly know better 😉 Although it also means I’m super choosy about my own covers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

