The Day We Disappeared – Lucy Robinson

Oh Wow. I’d heard this book was good, but… Wow!

I’m not going to say anything about the plot apart from it being very cleverly constructed, and I really did not see the twist, right until it was literally spelled out on the page. Then it was ‘Oh. My. God.’

I love the way this is written, alternating chapters between the two main characters/story lines, and wondering if we will ever see them meet. I have to confess I gave a little squeal of excitement to find Kate’s horse yard was in Exmoor – a place very close to my heart.

‘Le Cloob’, the friendship group, was brilliant – each of the members having their own secrets and heartbreak, whilst trying to support Annie. My suspicions were raised a couple of times about one of the major characters, just through little things they did, but, being the hopeless romantic I am, I pushed them aside and hoped for the best.

This book has substance; it’s not just a romance but has elements of a gripping thriller that kept me feverishly turning the pages.

Leave a Reply

